February 25th 2018

Top Stories / Counties

Seeking fresh start, Nakuru voters sweep out Kinuthia Mbugua, 4 MPs, 48 MCAs

Lee trounced Mbugua in all the eleven sub counties of Nakuru county in a tightly contest party primary filled with tension after the announcement of results was delayed for almost two days.

By Jackson Okataamboleokata@gmail.comFriday, 28 Apr 2017 12:07 EAT

Mr Kinyanjui, who has won the governorship nomination, addressing his supporters in Nakuru last month.

Nakuru governor Kinuthia Mbugua has joined the long list of Jubilee governors shown the door by the electorate in the just-concluded party primaries. Mr Mbugua was trounced by former Nakuru Town MP and NTSA chairman Lee Kinyanjui who garnered 216,385 votes against the incumbent’s 150,137.

Four Members of Parliament and 48 members of the county assembly (MCAs) were also shown the door as Nakuru voters went for a clean sweep of the region's political leaders.

Mr Kinyanjui trounced his opponent in all the eleven sub counties of Nakuru County in a tight contest filled with tension after the announcement of results was delayed for almost two days. Addressing the media this morning, Mr Mbugua was however reluctant to concede defeat saying that he wanted an audit done on the number of votes cast against the actual number of registered voters which he said did not correspond.

The results mean Mr Kinyanjui will now face it off with current Nakuru senator James Mungai who will run as an independent candidate and Peter Koros who is vying on Chama Cha Mashinani ticket in the August 8th general polls. 

Meanwhile, Nakuru County Assembly speaker Susan Kihika won the senatorial ticket after beating five men. Nominated senator Liza Chelule beat other eight women to win the women representative ticket.

Serving Bahati constituency Member of Parliament Kimani Ngunjiri sailed through after garnering 22,319 votes against his closest challenger John Mbugua's 6,903. In the race, Dedan Mwenda got 4,256 votes while Chrispus Wathimba who has since conceded defeat got 1,670 votes.

Molo MP Jacob Macharia was among the four members of parliament who were also victims of the voters' wrath, others being Naivasha MP John Kihagi, Nelson Gaichuhie of Subukia and Joseph Kiuna of Njoro.

MPs David Gikaria from Nakuru Town East, Samuel Arama from Nakuru Town West, Moses Cheboi from Kuresoi North, Nderitu Mathenge from Gilgil sailed through the nominations. Out of the 55 MCAs in Nakuru County, only seven managed to sail through.

The writer is contributing reporter for the Kenya Free Press based in Nakuru County

Stay Connected